Share this:
  • Launch
    SpaceX launches its Falcon 9 rocket and Dragon cargo craft carrying JPL's ECOSTRESS mission from Space Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida at 5:42 a.m. EDT June 29, 2018. About nine minutes and 31 seconds after launching from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida on June 29, 2018, the SpaceX Dragon spacecraft carrying JPL's ECOSTRESS mission separates from the second-stage engine.
    Credit: NASA TV
06/29/2018 11:24:49

JPL News: ECOSTRESS Launches to Space Station on SpaceX Mission

An Earth science instrument built by the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), which is managed by Caltech for NASA, is heading to the International Space Station following Friday's launch of a NASA-contracted SpaceX Dragon spacecraft at 5:42 a.m. EDT.

Dragon lifted off on a Falcon 9 rocket from Space Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida with more than 5,900 pounds of research, equipment, cargo and supplies that will support dozens of investigations aboard the space station.

NASA astronauts Ricky Arnold and Drew Feustel will use the space station's Canadarm2 robotic arm to capture Dragon when it arrives at the station. Live coverage of the rendezvous and capture will air on NASA Television and the agency's website beginning at 2:30 a.m. PDT (5:30 a.m. EDT) Monday, July 2. Installation coverage is set to begin at 6 a.m. PDT (9 a.m. EDT).

JPL's ECOsystem Spaceborne Thermal Radiometer Experiment on Space Station (ECOSTRESS) will provide a new space-based measurement of how plants respond to changes in water availability. This data can help society better manage agricultural water use.

Read the full story from JPL News

Written by Robert Perkins